top of page
  • Writer's pictureDebbie Reinhardt

MPC gathers several contest wins at Gateway to Success conference

From left to right: Janice Denham, MPC co-president; Joan Berkman; Bob Delaney; Allison Stein; and Deborah Reinhardt, MPC co-president.

Communicators from throughout the United States were honored June 22 when the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) announced the winners of its 2024 Professional Communications Contest as the final event of the organization’s 2024 national conference in St. Louis, Mo.


Nearly 2,000 entries were submitted in this year’s contest including entries from Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa. Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Washington, D.C. and Canada.


“The NFPW professional communications contest puts a spotlight on outstanding entries from throughout the United States,” said Helen S. Plotkin, NFPW professional contest director. “Our judges continue to comment about the high quality of entries they judge in the contest. The entries showcase high quality and exceptional efforts.”


The following Missouri Professional Communicator (MPC) award recipients were honored during the 2024 NFPW Communications Contest Awards celebration.

Beth Bacon

Beth Bacon earned two first-place awards. The first was under writing/children’s book/fiction for “Alphabuddies: G Is First.” In the graphics and design category, her design for “The Family Santa Almost Forgot” took top honors.

Joan Berkman accepting her certificate from NFPW President Julie Campbell.

Joan Berkman’s column, “The Velvet Hammer,” garnered a first-place award. Her column regularly appears in the news magazine, Town & Style.

Campbell presented Suzanne Corbett with her certificates.

Suzanne Corbett won second place in the radio interview category for “Exploring Missouri's Unique Foodways with Suzanne Corbett” and took third for the travel article, “10 Architectural Wonders You Have to See.” Honorable mentions were given to her for a feature story, “Have a Coke and a Smile: New Soda Museum and Arcade Opens in Saint Charles,” and a specialty (business) article, “Friends Brew Up Good Times, Good Drinks in Wentzville and Flint Hill.”

Bob Delaney received his certificate from Campbell at the award ceremony.

Bob Delaney’s press release, “Gateway Chapter IPMS Presents 2023 Invitational Model Contest,” received an honorable mention. Delaney, a member of the International Plastic Modelers Society, also handles the chapter's newsletter.

Susan Croce Kelly

Susan Croce Kelly took a second-place award in the writing/nonfiction book for adult readers (biography or history) for “Newspaperwoman of the Ozarks, the Life and Times of Lucile Morris Upton.”

Rebecca Now accepting her award from Campbell.

Rebeccca Now also won in the book category (autobiography or memoir) for “Borrowed Courage.”

Allison Stein receiving her certificates from Campbell at Gateway to Success.

Allison Stein’s single advertisement, “ConQuesT, KC’s original science fiction & fantasy convention,” received a second-place award. “Rachael Mayo: Colors! Layers! Rocks! Creatures!” took third place for her personality profile.


Awards were accepted on behalf of Bacon and Kelly. Other recipients were present to receive their award certificates from Julie Campbell, NFPW president. MPC congratulates all 2024 Communications Contest winners.

17 views0 comments


bottom of page